Welcome to
ESL Printables, the website where English Language teachers exchange resources: worksheets, lesson plans,  activities, etc.
Our collection is growing every day with the help of many teachers. If you want to download you have to send your own contributions.

ESL Forum:

Techniques and methods in Language Teaching

Games, activities and teaching ideas

Grammar and Linguistics

Teaching material

Concerning worksheets

Concerning powerpoints

Concerning online exercises

Make suggestions, report errors

Ask for help

Message board

ESL forum > Teaching material > pre-school teaching    

pre-school teaching

retired
Turkey

pre-school teaching

dear friends,

I am new in this site.  I am a newly retired ESL teacher.  I worked in high schools and taught advanced level grammar.  I need your help.  I will start teaching in August at a private pre-school as an ESL teacher.  My students will be 3-6 ages. They don �t know how to write and read.  What kind of material shall I use and how can I find them?  I have never worked with this age group so this will be a big challange for me. Thanks for your help in advance.

17 Jul 2009      

lomasbello
Venezuela

Welcome to this excellent site!! You won �t regret to have such an amazing and awesome experience. They do not either  write or read but they learn so fast. Because they have not develop their written skills,  they improve their oral skills. You can do whatever you want with them. First of all, It is important to set a routine from the very beginning. What does it mean? You make them to sit on the floor in a circle and you sit in front of them. To catch their attention since they are so active choose a pet or a puppet and introduce them as a friend. Every time you want to introduce a topic and some structures use the puppet or the friend you have chosen in advance.