Welcome to
ESL Printables, the website where English Language teachers exchange resources: worksheets, lesson plans,  activities, etc.
Our collection is growing every day with the help of many teachers. If you want to download you have to send your own contributions.

ESL Forum:

Techniques and methods in Language Teaching

Games, activities and teaching ideas

Grammar and Linguistics

Teaching material

Concerning worksheets

Concerning powerpoints

Concerning online exercises

Make suggestions, report errors

Ask for help

Message board

ESL forum > Techniques and methods in Language Teaching > Motivate students to speak the target language    

Motivate students to speak the target language

lalic87
Costa Rica

Motivate students to speak the target language

Hello dear English teachers!

This is my first year teaching and I was wondering if some of you have had any troubles with students who do not want to speak in the target language while being in class. My students (nine graders) do not feel comfortable speaking in English (they do understand everything I say), they have received English lessons for years. They speak in English just when reading or participating in a speaking activity in which the practice is not as good as normal speech could be. I think they get embarrassed. What can I do in order to change that? Are there some activities in order to motivate students to speak English during the whole class? Suggestions, ideas�

Thanks in advance!

Laura C.

25 Apr 2010      

aliciapc
Uruguay