Welcome to
ESL Printables, the website where English Language teachers exchange resources: worksheets, lesson plans,  activities, etc.
Our collection is growing every day with the help of many teachers. If you want to download you have to send your own contributions.

ESL Forum:

Techniques and methods in Language Teaching

Games, activities and teaching ideas

Grammar and Linguistics

Teaching material

Concerning worksheets

Concerning powerpoints

Concerning online exercises

Make suggestions, report errors

Ask for help

Message board

ESL forum > Techniques and methods in Language Teaching > Teach English to adults (beginners)    

Teach English to adults (beginners)

mariajosefuster
Spain

Teach English to adults (beginners)

Please, help me! I am at a loss about a course I am just about to start!

I am going to start teaching English to about 16 adults (teachers) in 2 weeks. It will be a course of just 30 hours. Most of them are absolute beginners and some, just elementary level. Do you think I should be strict, speaking just English and not letting them speak Spanish? Should I speak both English and a bit of Spanish?

Please, could you  help me with some ideas of what to do with a class with many absolute beginners? I am at a loss, but I am really interested in this class, as it is new for me, and it means a bit of a challenge.

My first doubt is which language to use, but apart from that, I have not idea of which problems I am going to face, as I have never taught English to adults.

Thank you very much for all your help,

MJ

20 Dec 2012      

lewisronaldc
United States

Hi MJ.