Welcome to
ESL Printables, the website where English Language teachers exchange resources: worksheets, lesson plans,  activities, etc.
Our collection is growing every day with the help of many teachers. If you want to download you have to send your own contributions.

ESL Forum:

Techniques and methods in Language Teaching

Games, activities and teaching ideas

Grammar and Linguistics

Teaching material

Concerning worksheets

Concerning powerpoints

Concerning online exercises

Make suggestions, report errors

Ask for help

Message board

ESL forum > Ask for help > Reading with Teenagers    

Reading with Teenagers

izulia
China

Reading with Teenagers

Hello, 
I have been teaching primary school students for over 10 years and now will start teaching 12-15 year olds with elementary level of English. For reading I will be doing some short text reading with the usual ESL follow up activities.

In order to develop interest in reading chapter books, I am considering to choose Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. My question is, do guided reading sessions work with the teenagers? You know, when one students reads an extract from the story and everybody follows and take turns? How do teenagers respond to that? Also do you encourage reading the whole book? 

Are there any good books that you could recommend for my class of 12-13 year olds, all boys except for one girl?

Thank you!

22 Dec 2013      

s.lefevre
Brazil

I would read easy readers with them. There are books starting with 250 words. In my opinion, the readers should be exactly the level of the students, they would loose interest if they can �t understand most of the words.
There are some very interesting collections:
Oxford :Dominoes -  Bookworms - Dolphin Readers
 Longman: Structural Readers
Macmillan: Children �s Readers
Richmond : Modern readers
I have used them with children from 10 - 14 and they liked it very much.
There is also -Penguin Readers, but they  are more difficult.