Welcome to
ESL Printables, the website where English Language teachers exchange resources: worksheets, lesson plans,  activities, etc.
Our collection is growing every day with the help of many teachers. If you want to download you have to send your own contributions.

ESL Forum:

Techniques and methods in Language Teaching

Games, activities and teaching ideas

Grammar and Linguistics

Teaching material

Concerning worksheets

Concerning powerpoints

Concerning online exercises

Make suggestions, report errors

Ask for help

Message board

ESL forum > Games, activities and teaching ideas > IDEAS FOR TEACHING SIMPLE PAST WITH REGULAR VERBS    

IDEAS FOR TEACHING SIMPLE PAST WITH REGULAR VERBS

miss_alejandra
Argentina

IDEAS FOR TEACHING SIMPLE PAST WITH REGULAR VERBS

DEAR FRIENDS,
I NEED IDEAS TO TEACH SIMPLE PAST TO A CLASS OF 35  14 YEAR-OLD TEENS!!!!!!!!!!! THIS IS MY FIRST TIME TEACHING TEENS AND I FEEL CLUELESS. I AM ASKED TO SET A CONTEXT, TO PRESENT VOCABULARY (REGULAR VERBS) AND TEACH THE AFFIRMAT FORM OF THOSE VERBS.
COULD SOMEBODY BE KIND SO AS TO HELP ME , PLEASE? 

22 Apr 2015      

melissab
Argentina

There are several ways to work on this topic. Two that work especially well with teens, in my experience, are having them make a day to day list of their activities from the previous week , and talking/ writing about their last holiday. In the first activity you can make a diary-like template for them to complete with the base or infinitive form of the verbs naming their activites. After everyone has completed it, you can ask: Who played football last week? or Who went to the movies last week?, etc. Finally you have each student tell one thing that they did the previous week. a good thing to do is to write the past form of the verb on the board when you ask the questions, in order for them to have a reference to use when they say their sentence in past simple. You can work on their last holiday the same way.