Welcome to
ESL Printables, the website where English Language teachers exchange resources: worksheets, lesson plans,  activities, etc.
Our collection is growing every day with the help of many teachers. If you want to download you have to send your own contributions.

ESL Forum:

Techniques and methods in Language Teaching

Games, activities and teaching ideas

Grammar and Linguistics

Teaching material

Concerning worksheets

Concerning powerpoints

Concerning online exercises

Make suggestions, report errors

Ask for help

Message board

ESL forum > Techniques and methods in Language Teaching > I need help, its my first time!    

I need help, its my first time!

miss_marina...
Chile

I need help, its my first time!

Hi everybody!!

In a few weeks I will start  teaching groups of kids for the very first time and I �m really nervious about it. The groups are formed by 30 kids (from 10 to 13 years old). The problem I �m having is that I can �t find a nice ice breaker for the very first class. I found on the net very good ice breakers, but they are not suitable for our first meeting.
So if you have some ideas for me, I will deeply appreciate your help.

Thank you in advance and hugs for everybody !!!

Hug 

21 Feb 2009      

Ivona
Serbia

http://www.eslprintables.com/forum/topic.asp?id=4316

21 Feb 2009     

zoemorosini
United States

Hello there!

I �ve been teaching beginners ages 13 and up for several years now and I find the following to be a good ice-breaker as well as a way to learn their names FAST!!!

1.  Set all chairs in a circle, enough for everybody, including you.  Tell them to all sit in a chair.  You sit in the last one available.  (With 30, it might be a challenge...can you get another person to split the activity with you?)

2.  Begin by stating your name, for example, "My name is Ms. Whangdoodle".  The first student to your right has to say his/her name, then say, "And this is Ms. Whangdoodle."