Welcome to
ESL Printables, the website where English Language teachers exchange resources: worksheets, lesson plans,  activities, etc.
Our collection is growing every day with the help of many teachers. If you want to download you have to send your own contributions.

ESL Forum:

Techniques and methods in Language Teaching

Games, activities and teaching ideas

Grammar and Linguistics

Teaching material

Concerning worksheets

Concerning powerpoints

Concerning online exercises

Make suggestions, report errors

Ask for help

Message board

ESL forum > Grammar and Linguistics > Grammar    

Grammar

ashley moyle
Australia

Grammar

I am new to teaching. I �m not extremely good with the grammar side of English, but I �ve spoke it all my life as I �m Australian. Is it necessary to know grammar precisely to teach english properly? I �m trying to learn backwards. I speak english, now I �m trying to figure out why I say it that way so I can explain it!

Please check out my worksheets, as I �m approaching the magic number 30!

Thanks.

14 May 2009      

Nawrocki
Australia

Great to meet you!
I think it is great that you are making an effort to learn grammar as so many native speakers don �t.
Please email me if you need any help.
I know everytime I teach a new grammar point to my students I am also learning it as well.
I stick to one point at a time.
Natalie

14 May 2009     

catturn
Australia

welcome, ashley! i agree with natalie, the best way to learn grammar is to teach it! i have found that working from a good ESL grammar book is a good way to learn the rules. And yes, it is necessary to know grammar but it �s only one part of what students need to know. They also need skills & vocab. Good luck!

14 May 2009     

Abdelhadi
Morocco

It �s usually nice to see new teachers making their way towards enhancing their language proficiency. And certainly, mastering grammar, which takes a big part of any language, is much necessary to this enhancement.