Welcome to
ESL Printables, the website where English Language teachers exchange resources: worksheets, lesson plans,  activities, etc.
Our collection is growing every day with the help of many teachers. If you want to download you have to send your own contributions.

ESL Forum:

Techniques and methods in Language Teaching

Games, activities and teaching ideas

Grammar and Linguistics

Teaching material

Concerning worksheets

Concerning powerpoints

Concerning online exercises

Make suggestions, report errors

Ask for help

Message board

ESL forum > Message board > Word of the Day    

Word of the Day

agagug
Canada

Word of the Day

I am new to this...

I won the last challenge, so I posted the new word of day which is "dithyrambic" by the way... However, I do not know how to make my post permanent on the forum for the time of the contest in order to make it visible for contestants. How can I do this?

So, here it is again...

Dithyrambic.

Thus, according to �lodie who declared me the winner of the last WOD post,  here is what you have to do:

Try to define its meaning in the wittiest, most comical, or most stupid way.  If you know what it means, don�t tell us, please, but give us a silly definition of it, instead.

Remember, NO INTERNET, NO DICTIONARY DEFINITIONS � just ideas from your head!

May the wittiest win!
Agagug

27 Oct 2010      

ldthemagicman
United Kingdom

Dithyrambic

�Di� = �two�; �thy� = Anglo-Saxon word �thigh�; �rambic� = adjective derived from the romantic American film idol, Rambo.

Dithyrambic = A poetic, rhythmic, romantic, Rambo-like style of walking, using both hips, (similar to �Iambic Pentameter� where you use 5 hips).

It is intended to impress a girl, and is practised by a Wannabee (�I Wanna be Famous�).

His friends predict that he will be a Gonnalook (�He�s Gonna look Stupid�).

Les

27 Oct 2010     

SueThom
United States

Oh, that �s good, Les! LOL I don �t think I can top that one.