Welcome to
ESL Printables, the website where English Language teachers exchange resources: worksheets, lesson plans,  activities, etc.
Our collection is growing every day with the help of many teachers. If you want to download you have to send your own contributions.

ESL Forum:

Techniques and methods in Language Teaching

Games, activities and teaching ideas

Grammar and Linguistics

Teaching material

Concerning worksheets

Concerning powerpoints

Concerning online exercises

Make suggestions, report errors

Ask for help

Message board

ESL forum > Ask for help > A dream job...    

A dream job...

izulia
China

A dream job...

Hi everybody,
Have you ever had this feeling, like you just had enough of teaching or doing the wrong job? I have been teaching for 12 years and have had some great experiences. 
Unfortunately since January I �ve had a class of extremely disruptive teenagers that made me think, am I actually in the right place? I suddenly remembered that when I was a kid I always wanted to be involved in all sorts of art and craft activities. It gave me enormous pleasure in making things with my own hands. But my beloved parents thought of a better plan for me and eventually I ended up teaching. 
I wonder if this is a reaction to a very stressful time that I am having with my class right now or should I actually follow my childhood dream? Obviously I would have to figure out how I can earn money by doing art and craft and it could be not as well paid, but I would do something satisfying... 
I would appreciate your thoughts about this. I also wonder if any of you have ever had another dream job except for teaching? 

5 Apr 2014      

cunliffe
United Kingdom

Hi izulia,
I think we all feel like this from time to time. A class of disruptive teenagers can get anybody down. Have you thought of different approaches with them? Remember - the class is the problem, not your job in general.