Welcome to
ESL Printables, the website where English Language teachers exchange resources: worksheets, lesson plans,  activities, etc.
Our collection is growing every day with the help of many teachers. If you want to download you have to send your own contributions.

ESL Forum:

Techniques and methods in Language Teaching

Games, activities and teaching ideas

Grammar and Linguistics

Teaching material

Concerning worksheets

Concerning powerpoints

Concerning online exercises

Make suggestions, report errors

Ask for help

Message board

ESL forum > Ask for help > Production Questions    

Production Questions

rommaya
Egypt

Production Questions

Dear respected teachers,

Would you please clarify the meaning of "production questions" in grammar specially, and please give me few examples.

Thanks in advance, your help is really appreciated.  

19 Nov 2017      

jfaraujo
Portugal

Well, let me see if I can help you.
As far as I have been taught when I was a teacher trainee, "production questions" are questions where students have to provide their own answers to them.
For example, a multiple choice exercise is not a production exercise because students only have to choose the correct option.
If you give your students an exercise where they have to finish sentences using a certain grammatical structure, but using their own ideas, this is a production exercise, because students have to create their own endings to the sentences no matter which grammatical structure they have to use.
I hope this may help you! 

19 Nov 2017     

ldthemagicman
United Kingdom

Dear Rommaya,

I have not met this phrase until now, but my little bit of research suggests the following.

PRODUCTIVE.
a) The creative capacity of language users to produce and understand an indefinitely large number of sentences.
b) The potential of a linguistic rule to produce many instances of the same type.

Examples.
1) The use of �s � to produce regular Plural Nouns. Dog; dogs; cat cats, book books; etc.