Welcome to
ESL Printables, the website where English Language teachers exchange resources: worksheets, lesson plans,  activities, etc.
Our collection is growing every day with the help of many teachers. If you want to download you have to send your own contributions.

ESL Forum:

Techniques and methods in Language Teaching

Games, activities and teaching ideas

Grammar and Linguistics

Teaching material

Concerning worksheets

Concerning powerpoints

Concerning online exercises

Make suggestions, report errors

Ask for help

Message board

ESL forum > Message board > Is using films legal?    

Is using films legal?

szelma
Poland

Is using films legal?

Dear Members of this wonderful website,

I am a student of English and a teacher to be. During my methodology classes I have learnt about advantages of using video in teaching English. Eager to try it out I downloaded some animated films � extracts and decided to use them. However, I realized that every film has this warning at the beginning that forbids you to show it to the audience.
       I wanted to use advertisement spots and films but now I am afraid of the legal consequences. It may seem funny if you teach young learners but what about conferences and universities, when you deal with people you do not know well.
       I could not find any documents that would definitely state that using films for educational purpose only is legal. My Polish teachers have never had to face any legal consequences connected with the issue but it doesn �t guarantee that I will not have such a problem.
      How do you deal with this issue in your countries? Do you get any permissions from the film companies? Do you think that using films that are available on the youtube is legal?

Thank you for your support.

Best wishes,

Justyna

12 May 2009      

Vickiii
New Zealand