Welcome to
ESL Printables, the website where English Language teachers exchange resources: worksheets, lesson plans,  activities, etc.
Our collection is growing every day with the help of many teachers. If you want to download you have to send your own contributions.

ESL Forum:

Techniques and methods in Language Teaching

Games, activities and teaching ideas

Grammar and Linguistics

Teaching material

Concerning worksheets

Concerning powerpoints

Concerning online exercises

Make suggestions, report errors

Ask for help

Message board

ESL forum > Ask for help > There isn īt any apple. // Is there any apple?    

There isn īt any apple. // Is there any apple?

Jorgelinaac
Argentina

There isn īt any apple. // Is there any apple?

Hi! I am a trainee teacher and I delivered a class today. The topic was about countable nouns and I had to explain the use of any and some. So I drew a table on the blackboard with different types of food. I elicited from students the following sentences...
                         There is a banana on the table
                         There is an apple on the table.
                         There are some eggs on the table

and all was well until I began with the negative and question forms.

After the class, I was told by my teacher that it was not ok to say....* there isnīt any apple. ( it is too emphatic). We would just say.... there aren īt any apples.

The same goes for the question form.... * Is there any apple? is wrong. Instead, I should have only written ... Are there any apples?

I was shocked and emabarrased. But above all, I felt terrible for having taught those kids something incorrect.

But, I still find it hard to believe I can īt say.... īthere isn īt any apple. � or īIs there any apple?

Maybe someone can make it clearer for me. Thanks in advance!

24 Aug 2009      

arlissa
United States