Welcome to
ESL Printables, the website where English Language teachers exchange resources: worksheets, lesson plans,  activities, etc.
Our collection is growing every day with the help of many teachers. If you want to download you have to send your own contributions.

ESL Forum:

Techniques and methods in Language Teaching

Games, activities and teaching ideas

Grammar and Linguistics

Teaching material

Concerning worksheets

Concerning powerpoints

Concerning online exercises

Make suggestions, report errors

Ask for help

Message board

ESL forum > Techniques and methods in Language Teaching > Fire Drill    

Fire Drill

americorps
United States

Fire Drill

Hi everyone,

I am a new ESL Instructor, currently teaching Beginner Levels students in America. I am required to explain to my beginner students the procedures for a fire drill, if one should happen.

I tried drawing simple pictures (fire - fire alarm - walk down the stairs, follow teacher - meet in parking lot) but it seemed to confuse them. I think the problem is they may not have "fire alarms" in their countries.

Any suggestions, tips, or explaination sheets on "fire drills" for BEGINNER level students would be greatly appreciated! Thank you!

Laura

12 Oct 2009      

libertybelle
United States

Sometimes a picture is worth a 1000 words.

Isn �t there an official film for schools to use to show the procedure in a fire drill?
If not try finding something on YouTube.

I found this, but it isn �t that good.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=155DW5RDbNg

good luck
L

ps - otherwise find some pictures of a fire, then of kids leaving the classroom and going outside.

12 Oct 2009     

toandfro_
Poland

Hi Laura, I think you �ve chosen the best way - I mean drawing the picture. You can also print a simple pic like that:
http://www.dotolearn.com/picturecards/images/imageschedule/firedrill_l.gif

and let them try to describe what they see in the picutre in their own words.

Don �t give up ;)

domi