Welcome to
ESL Printables, the website where English Language teachers exchange resources: worksheets, lesson plans,  activities, etc.
Our collection is growing every day with the help of many teachers. If you want to download you have to send your own contributions.

ESL Forum:

Techniques and methods in Language Teaching

Games, activities and teaching ideas

Grammar and Linguistics

Teaching material

Concerning worksheets

Concerning powerpoints

Concerning online exercises

Make suggestions, report errors

Ask for help

Message board

ESL forum > Ask for help > The difference between would and used to     

The difference between would and used to

KHAWLA ALZIOD
Jordan

The difference between would and used to

I faced a problem that my student did not understand the difference between would and used to .I studied a lot ,but I dont know why it was so confusing for them . 

8 Nov 2009      

anitarobi
Croatia

Would is a bit tricky, because you use it in conditionals for future reference: e. g. If I earn enough money, I would like to travel around the world; but you also use it in the future-in-the-past when reporting speech in the past:
e. g. Peter said: �I will be there tomorrow. �
reported as: Peter said that he would be there the next day.

You can also sometimes use it for a past action, e. g. When I was little, I would sometimes sneak into my grandpa �s attic and read old comics.
In this respect, it is sort of similar to used to which is regularly used for habitual past actions (which you don �t do any more), e.g. I used to travel a lot, but now that I am building a house, I don �t travel as much any more. This usage can sometimes be confusing for students, though I never had problems with used to - once they figured it out, they practically preferred it to any other form for past habits.