Welcome to
ESL Printables, the website where English Language teachers exchange resources: worksheets, lesson plans,  activities, etc.
Our collection is growing every day with the help of many teachers. If you want to download you have to send your own contributions.

ESL Forum:

Techniques and methods in Language Teaching

Games, activities and teaching ideas

Grammar and Linguistics

Teaching material

Concerning worksheets

Concerning powerpoints

Concerning online exercises

Make suggestions, report errors

Ask for help

Message board

ESL forum > Ask for help > Need help teaching children    

Need help teaching children

lillizen
Brazil

Need help teaching children

Hello, everyone:

This week, I started teaching English (ESL) to two groups of kids.
The first group has 8 kids of mixed ages, from 3 to 5,
and the second group has 5 kids, aged 6 to 8 (some can read/write, others, cannot).

I have been a longtime teacher of adults, but have barely any experience with small kids. So it was quite difficult to speak the same language as they do and to put myself in their shoes. Most of all, it was dreadfully difficult to teach without being able to write or present written texts. :S

I need your help on how I should deal with these young kids,
and I would also appreciate ideas of activities, games, lesson plans, etc.

Thanks in advance,

Lilli Zen.   (^.^)

19 Mar 2010      

Vivi Quir
Argentina