Welcome to
ESL Printables, the website where English Language teachers exchange resources: worksheets, lesson plans,  activities, etc.
Our collection is growing every day with the help of many teachers. If you want to download you have to send your own contributions.

ESL Forum:

Techniques and methods in Language Teaching

Games, activities and teaching ideas

Grammar and Linguistics

Teaching material

Concerning worksheets

Concerning powerpoints

Concerning online exercises

Make suggestions, report errors

Ask for help

Message board

ESL forum > Ask for help > WARM UP IDEAS    

WARM UP IDEAS

VALERIA FERNANDEZ
Uruguay

WARM UP IDEAS

HI PEOPLE, 
IM AN ENGLISH TEACHER FROM URUGUAY, AND I NEED SOME WARM UP ACTIVITIES TO ENCOURAGE MY CHILDREN SINCE SOME OF THEM ARE LAZY, THEAY RE LITTLE KIDS AND THEY ARE NOT USED TO SPEAK IN ENGLISH ALL THE TIME.
ANOTHER QUESTION: HOW CAN I MAKE FOR THE BIG ONES ( FROM 6 TO 9 YEARS OLD) TO SPEAK IN ENGLISH ALL THE TIME? IT IS DIFFICULT FOR ME.
THANKS FOR ALL AND HAVE A GREAT DAY. 

28 Apr 2010      

Sorcha
Portugal

Hi! Have you tried some kinaesthetic activities? They usually get excited as  they are not only using the language but also doing some physical activity. Try these activities:

1) Take a ball into the classroom. Pre teach/revise some vocabulary and then ask them to form a circle, you throw the ball to one of them and he has to say one of the words, then it�s his turn to throw it to a colleague. If they fail, they �re out of the game.

2) Teach them a chant and ask them to repeat it and do the mime. eg: Point to the window, point to the door, up to the ceiling, down to the floor.

3) Prepare bingo games.

4) Do some craft work. eg. teach circle, triangle, rectangle and square; give them a worksheet with these forms, ask them to colour the pictures and then they cut them. Finally, they paste the forms and do their own picture. It could be trees, the sun, a train, a house, flowers, etc.