Welcome to
ESL Printables, the website where English Language teachers exchange resources: worksheets, lesson plans,  activities, etc.
Our collection is growing every day with the help of many teachers. If you want to download you have to send your own contributions.

ESL Forum:

Techniques and methods in Language Teaching

Games, activities and teaching ideas

Grammar and Linguistics

Teaching material

Concerning worksheets

Concerning powerpoints

Concerning online exercises

Make suggestions, report errors

Ask for help

Message board

ESL forum > Techniques and methods in Language Teaching > total beginner - first lesson    

total beginner - first lesson

fede117
Italy

total beginner - first lesson

Hi,

as I di not get any reply to my post. I try again. I have been asked to teach a Beginner level. this is going to be Italian to foreigners but I think you might help me here too. School has a policy with regards to 1st lesson: not to use the books (which are not yet available) ; do "get to know you" activities and "why have you chosen to learn Italian" to adapt to their needs. I do not want to use English but start with Italian straight away and I know about "find someone who", but how can students go around asking questions if they are total beginners? what type of questions should they ask?
have you got suggestions for this type of activies to do in the 1st lessonfor total beginners?
please can you PM me as I might not be able to view your answers.

thanks very much for your help
have a nice day

23 Sep 2010      

perma
Greece

Hi!
What age are your students?

23 Sep 2010     

dawnmain
United Kingdom

all beginners classes start with the verb Be.  What is your name? My name is Dawn. What is his name? etc  then probably numbers, nationality, jobs.
if you havent got any beginners books I suggest you go to englishtips.org and download some beginners books to get an idea of what to do.
good luck

23 Sep 2010     

Lucia13
Armenia

Hi Fede,