Welcome to
ESL Printables, the website where English Language teachers exchange resources: worksheets, lesson plans,  activities, etc.
Our collection is growing every day with the help of many teachers. If you want to download you have to send your own contributions.

ESL Forum:

Techniques and methods in Language Teaching

Games, activities and teaching ideas

Grammar and Linguistics

Teaching material

Concerning worksheets

Concerning powerpoints

Concerning online exercises

Make suggestions, report errors

Ask for help

Message board

ESL forum > Ask for help > How to start from the beginning     

How to start from the beginning

pb.andert
Chile

How to start from the beginning

Hello! 

I am a English Teaching student (last year), and I sometimes give private lessons to students of secondary school. A few days ago, a woman phoned me asking for English classes but she said she knew nothing about English and that she needed to learn very quickly.
The problem is that I have never taught anyone who knows nothing about English (well, Im sure she knows some, everybody does directly or indirectly) and I dont really know where (what topic) to start teaching her...

I thought about teachign basic things like verb to be and action verbs, but not sure about the correct order... Besides she says she wants to learn for understanding papers mainly, not much for speaking or listening...

Could you please give an idea on how (or where) should I start teaching her? regarding basic grammar aspects and vocabulary in context

P.S. as I am finishing college, I havent gathered much experience in teaching, that�s why sometimesI dont feel quite sure about my knowledge , so I ask for help! :)

Thanks for reading it and help!

7 Jun 2011      

edrodmedina
United States

Maybe  this site can help. http://esl.about.com/od/beginningenglish/u/start.htm Ed

7 Jun 2011     

dawnmain
United Kingdom