Welcome to
ESL Printables, the website where English Language teachers exchange resources: worksheets, lesson plans,  activities, etc.
Our collection is growing every day with the help of many teachers. If you want to download you have to send your own contributions.

ESL Forum:

Techniques and methods in Language Teaching

Games, activities and teaching ideas

Grammar and Linguistics

Teaching material

Concerning worksheets

Concerning powerpoints

Concerning online exercises

Make suggestions, report errors

Ask for help

Message board

ESL forum > Make suggestions, report errors > English errors are widespread on ESLprintables    

English errors are widespread on ESLprintables

BlancaNC
United States

English errors are widespread on ESLprintables

I am new to ESLprintables.  I am a native English speaker from California, and I am beginning to teach ESL to native Spanish speakers.  Some of these error-filled worksheets have been downloaded many times by non-native English speakers, presumably to use for classroom instruction.  That seems like a big mistake.  This site will be promoting improper and poor English language usage.  Should there not be a requirement for proofreading for correctness, before submitting to this site to share?  This is particularly important for the worksheet designers who are at an intermediate level and not truly fluent in English. 

17 Sep 2011      

Mietz
Germany

I �m not a native speaker, but I always check through all the worksheets I �m using from here. Never mind, that I will never ever be able to use everything that I �ve downloaded anyway. But the mistakes are normal - even for native speakers making some - and in the end they one big reason, why worksheets should be editable.

So just because there are worksheets with mistakes doesn �t mean, that a non-native speaker necessarily teaches mistakes.

I find the suggestion a good idea though that worksheets should be proofread, but who should do that?

Just some thoughts.
Mietz