Welcome to
ESL Printables, the website where English Language teachers exchange resources: worksheets, lesson plans,  activities, etc.
Our collection is growing every day with the help of many teachers. If you want to download you have to send your own contributions.

ESL Forum:

Techniques and methods in Language Teaching

Games, activities and teaching ideas

Grammar and Linguistics

Teaching material

Concerning worksheets

Concerning powerpoints

Concerning online exercises

Make suggestions, report errors

Ask for help

Message board

ESL forum > Ask for help > Using phonetic symbols    

Using phonetic symbols

colibrita
United Kingdom

Using phonetic symbols

Hi All

How can I persuade a Spanish-speaking absolute beginner that it would be better to learn and use the phonetic symbols instead of adopting his own tailormade "pronunciation" guide, which is kind of phrasebook style, eg. beautiful - biutiful. He says he finds it very hard to connect the spelling with the pronunciation but I feel that by teaching his brain an alternative "spelling" it �s detrimental in the long run. For example, he �s not allowing his brain to start making connections between spelling and pronunciation.

What do you think?

Colibrita

8 Nov 2011      

Jessisun
Argentina

Hi! my piece of advice for you could be that you start "showing" him the advantages of learning the phonetics symbols so that when he �s alone, he can look the pronunciation up in a good  monolingual dictionary and he will be able to produce the word in the correct way. maybe, you can start teaching him simple vowel sounds and contrast them with minimal pairs. I hope this can be helpful!!! Regards! Jessica from Argentina

8 Nov 2011     

maryse pey�
France

Hi Colibrita,

Phonetic is natural for us as we are used too.