Welcome to
ESL Printables, the website where English Language teachers exchange resources: worksheets, lesson plans,  activities, etc.
Our collection is growing every day with the help of many teachers. If you want to download you have to send your own contributions.

ESL Forum:

Techniques and methods in Language Teaching

Games, activities and teaching ideas

Grammar and Linguistics

Teaching material

Concerning worksheets

Concerning powerpoints

Concerning online exercises

Make suggestions, report errors

Ask for help

Message board

ESL forum > Ask for help > Uneasy...    

Uneasy...

mari3lla
Italy

Uneasy...

I �m Mariella. I �m an ESL teacher from Italy. I think I need your help to feel more self-confident with my English. I was really good at it when I was younger and I graduated and then I had experiences abroad and I could practise it. But now...I �m not so young, I �ve three children, separated, and as a teacher I �ve just the money to arrive till the end of the month and I can �t think of a journey or of a course.
When I teach I feel pretty good (my students are 11-14 yo) but when it happens that I have to face mothertongue speakers...well, just the words can �t come out of my mouth (I �m also rather shy) and I feel stuck and uneasy.
Please, I need your advice: what can I do?
Thanks and a big hug, Mariella

3 May 2012      

libertybelle
United States

Find someone on Skype and speak together.
Practice makes perfect and I �m sure no one is judging you.
We are often too critical of ourselves - that �s the greatest hindrance!!

good luck
L

3 May 2012     

olaola
Italy

...I know that in some towns there are english speaking clubs, where people  meet to speak in english and get to know each other... you could join one of them, if you are so shy  as you say, trying to speak to someone you don �t know on the web might be difficoult...

3 May 2012     

almaz
United Kingdom