Welcome to
ESL Printables, the website where English Language teachers exchange resources: worksheets, lesson plans,  activities, etc.
Our collection is growing every day with the help of many teachers. If you want to download you have to send your own contributions.

ESL Forum:

Techniques and methods in Language Teaching

Games, activities and teaching ideas

Grammar and Linguistics

Teaching material

Concerning worksheets

Concerning powerpoints

Concerning online exercises

Make suggestions, report errors

Ask for help

Message board

ESL forum > Ask for help > I need help! ABSOLUTE BEGINNERS!     

I need help! ABSOLUTE BEGINNERS!

petili
Bulgaria

I need help! ABSOLUTE BEGINNERS!

The problem is I �m going to teach English to two children - foreigners. They don �t know any English and they don �t know any Bulgarian. ( I �m Bulgarian and I use Bulgarian as a subsidiary language to help my students understand some words or phrases better). But now I can use no second language to help me. I don �t know a word from theirs, too. As I was told they are from an Arabian country but I �m not sure which one. I �m at a loss! Could someone help me with a tip or some advice, or a site where I can read something about this way of teaching foreign language. Has somone of you had  experience in teaching English to foreigners without a language that both sides umderstand. And furthermore they are 12 and 14, I was told. Could someone share some experience with me? How can I introduce grammar  topics. I know I can use lots of pictures and realia but GRAMMAR?
I �ll be so grateful!
Thanks in advance
Petya

8 Aug 2012      

ueslteacher
Ukraine

Use the communicative approach. Threre �s lots of reading on this in the net, see here.
In a nutshell - use lots of visuals, speaking models, repetition, games. Start with the alphabet, phonics and basic vocabulay related to everyday life.
Sophia

8 Aug 2012     

petili
Bulgaria

THANK YOU SO MUCH!
Petya

8 Aug 2012     

sadeel
Palestine