Welcome to
ESL Printables, the website where English Language teachers exchange resources: worksheets, lesson plans,  activities, etc.
Our collection is growing every day with the help of many teachers. If you want to download you have to send your own contributions.

ESL Forum:

Techniques and methods in Language Teaching

Games, activities and teaching ideas

Grammar and Linguistics

Teaching material

Concerning worksheets

Concerning powerpoints

Concerning online exercises

Make suggestions, report errors

Ask for help

Message board

ESL forum > Ask for help > Secrets, secrets... and ... secrets. How to handle them?    

Secrets, secrets... and ... secrets. How to handle them?

lbhspatriot
Poland

Secrets, secrets... and ... secrets. How to handle them?

Hey guys, please help me with something :)

Apart from being a teacher I also (mostly) work as a private tutor. Due to that I get really close with my students and after teaching them for 3+ years they trust me and often confide in me. I �m only 25 so even when they are 15, they feel closer and more relatable to me then their own parents. But some secrets are worse than others and  not always I know how to deal with the knowledge though.

What if a student tells me she/he cuts themselves? What to do when they seem depressed or go through "I hate my mother" phase?
On one hand I want to be loyal to my students but then maybe I should tell their parents what they are going through. But if I tell I risk that they will never tell me anything again (and I seem to be the only person they confide in - so they lose that person).
I �m kinda stuck in the middle (prefered when they were all kids! heh ) :)

2 Sep 2012      

carinita
Argentina