Welcome to
ESL Printables, the website where English Language teachers exchange resources: worksheets, lesson plans,  activities, etc.
Our collection is growing every day with the help of many teachers. If you want to download you have to send your own contributions.

ESL Forum:

Techniques and methods in Language Teaching

Games, activities and teaching ideas

Grammar and Linguistics

Teaching material

Concerning worksheets

Concerning powerpoints

Concerning online exercises

Make suggestions, report errors

Ask for help

Message board

ESL forum > Ask for help > Check my explanation     

Check my explanation

Pretty3
Saudi Arabia

Check my explanation

Dear members :

Can you check my explanation for the adverb: quite

Does it always mean a little before the adjectives and mean completely before the verbs??

e.g.
I quite like steak.

I am a student at quite a big school.

This explanantion confused me:

Wating to hear from you
:)

4 Feb 2013      

yanogator
United States

I would say "no" and "no" to your questions.

If I understand BrE as I think I do, "I quite like steak" means more than a little, but not  all the way to "completely". In the US, we would probably say "I like steak a lot". I could be wrong about this, though.

"quite a big school" means a very big school, not "a little" as you thought.

It is quite cold today = It is very cold today.

Bruce

4 Feb 2013     

Pretty3
Saudi Arabia

Thank you for your reply.

II hate that word.

How does it mean very and it makes the meaning of the adjectives weaker?!!!

4 Feb 2013     

yanogator
United States

It doesn �t make the meaning of the adjectives weaker. It �s no wonder this is confusing you. You have gotten some bad information somewhere.

Bruce

4 Feb 2013     

Jayho
Australia

Actually Bruce, if you look at this British Council link, you �ll see that they do say that quite can be used to make adjectives less strong http://learnenglish.britishcouncil.org/en/english-grammar/adjectives/mitigators.