Welcome to
ESL Printables, the website where English Language teachers exchange resources: worksheets, lesson plans,  activities, etc.
Our collection is growing every day with the help of many teachers. If you want to download you have to send your own contributions.

ESL Forum:

Techniques and methods in Language Teaching

Games, activities and teaching ideas

Grammar and Linguistics

Teaching material

Concerning worksheets

Concerning powerpoints

Concerning online exercises

Make suggestions, report errors

Ask for help

Message board

ESL forum > Ask for help > Absolute Beginners    

Absolute Beginners

rafed
Syria

Absolute Beginners

Hi for all. I am about to start teaching an English course for Absolute Beginners adults. I do not know hot to start with them. Please I need your help.....

10 May 2013      

yuyujo
Colombia

It is very important that you teach them to introduce themselves. That �s the first thing they need to know. After that, they need a lot of vocabulary. Start with objects that are very important for the class, such as school supplies, simple sentences such as: How do you say"  " this?" and don �t overwhelm  them with many grammatical issues at the very beginning.
Also, you can use their mother tongue if possible in order for them to start understanding. Of course you should speak in English most of the time but make sure they don �t give up. Use as much as you can, your body language to help them get relevant ideas. But the key is to provide and teach enough vocabulary.
For more info, look for a book about methodology. It will help you a lot. A very good author is Jeremy Harmer.

10 May 2013     

Iciar
Spain

I agree with yuyujo in the silabus, but the only thing is that I would not use their mother tongue at all. It is essential that they don�t translate at all to learn the language as a "second first language" + it will be very hard for them at the beginning, but they (and you) will be surprised of how quick they learn.