Welcome to
ESL Printables, the website where English Language teachers exchange resources: worksheets, lesson plans,  activities, etc.
Our collection is growing every day with the help of many teachers. If you want to download you have to send your own contributions.

ESL Forum:

Techniques and methods in Language Teaching

Games, activities and teaching ideas

Grammar and Linguistics

Teaching material

Concerning worksheets

Concerning powerpoints

Concerning online exercises

Make suggestions, report errors

Ask for help

Message board

ESL forum > Ask for help > another vocabulary question    

another vocabulary question

monder78
Poland

another vocabulary question

Although I have been teaching the language for several years sometimes I am in 2 minds about English vocabulary. This time I �m wondering if there is any phrase to express that you are crazy about your job to such an extend that you keep talking about the professional terms or you only think about your work, or you associate everything on your way with work in your daily life. I don �t mean talk shop, though this is really good as well but when it comes to talking. I also don �t mean workaholic I hope some native speakers or other fellow teachers will help me. In Polish it´s zboczenie zawodowe. in English we have sexual deviance. Does a similar phrase to this one but in reference to work exist ? Can we say we suffer from morbid interest in work ?

20 Sep 2013      

srtacarrie
United States

Are you looking for a term that expresses someone who seems obsessed with their job that they continually talk about it? 

Or is is more accurate that you are looking for a term that expresses how someone is so immersed in their profession that its terminology enters every aspect of their lives?

"To talk shop" is to discuss the workplace happenings or to discuss a workplace matter.