Welcome to
ESL Printables, the website where English Language teachers exchange resources: worksheets, lesson plans,  activities, etc.
Our collection is growing every day with the help of many teachers. If you want to download you have to send your own contributions.

ESL Forum:

Techniques and methods in Language Teaching

Games, activities and teaching ideas

Grammar and Linguistics

Teaching material

Concerning worksheets

Concerning powerpoints

Concerning online exercises

Make suggestions, report errors

Ask for help

Message board

ESL forum > Ask for help > Absolute beginners    

Absolute beginners

Sniggy
Russian Federation

Absolute beginners

Hi there! I have a group of 15 (almost absolute) beginners (aged 24-45) who have studied some English before but there is no system in their knowledge. Most of them are engineers and  technicians, They are supposed to pass KET in 5 weeks, We have 6 hours of English per day except Sunday. Short time, great ambitions.  Any advice? Thanks a lot in advance!!

20 May 2016      

redcamarocruiser
United States

Do they know the Bible or Quran or any prayers that they have memorized in their mother tongue?

If so, they can save a lot of time by not having to look up vocabulary in a dictionary by reading or listening to English translations of familiar Bible stories (or other religious texts).  If your students are not religious, short texts such as Aesop �s fables can be helpful because they are most likely already familiar in their mother tongue. 

http://www.easyenglish.info/bible/

http://www.biblestudytools.com/bbe/ 

20 May 2016     

cunliffe
United Kingdom

Great advice from Mary.