Welcome to
ESL Printables, the website where English Language teachers exchange resources: worksheets, lesson plans,  activities, etc.
Our collection is growing every day with the help of many teachers. If you want to download you have to send your own contributions.

ESL Forum:

Techniques and methods in Language Teaching

Games, activities and teaching ideas

Grammar and Linguistics

Teaching material

Concerning worksheets

Concerning powerpoints

Concerning online exercises

Make suggestions, report errors

Ask for help

Message board

ESL forum > Ask for help > Suggestions please!    

Suggestions please!

Elle81
United Kingdom

Suggestions please!

Good morning all, I am an ESOL teacher currently working with refugees. In my class of around 15 learners, I have four women in their fifties who are illiterate in their own language & are struggling to learn English. I have tried every trick in the book, but I am getting nowhere! Does anyone out there have any tips or ideas that have worked for them in this situation. I have currently put them in one group & doing one to one with them with the help of a TA. I would appreciate any ideas or activities to help these learners. Have a good day everyone, Elle

6 Mar 2017      

ldeloresmoore
China

Can you give us a little more info? What �s their current English level?  If you are starting from zero, I �d say probably -- 

1) Look for a way to give them something functional quickly.  (What �s your name? Where are you from? What �s your job? Do you have any children? What �s your phone number? How much does __ Cost?)