Welcome to
ESL Printables, the website where English Language teachers exchange resources: worksheets, lesson plans,  activities, etc.
Our collection is growing every day with the help of many teachers. If you want to download you have to send your own contributions.

ESL Forum:

Techniques and methods in Language Teaching

Games, activities and teaching ideas

Grammar and Linguistics

Teaching material

Concerning worksheets

Concerning powerpoints

Concerning online exercises

Make suggestions, report errors

Ask for help

Message board

ESL forum > Ask for help > "The widow" by Robert Southey    

"The widow" by Robert Southey

cagriyurttas
Turkey

"The widow" by Robert Southey

hello everyone!

I am studying on a poem to teach highschool students but I can �t find anything academic about it. Can you please help me about the sources and some teaching ideas?

"The Widow" by Robert Southey 

Thanks in advance. 

5 Jun 2017      

cunliffe
United Kingdom

There �s not much on the net about that! I found this link,but it �s just a comment.
There �s a skit on it, I expect you know, will get that link up.
It �s a very simple poem, written to evoke sympathy and pity. Is he criticising the system, or just focusing on the widow herself?