Welcome to
ESL Printables, the website where English Language teachers exchange resources: worksheets, lesson plans,  activities, etc.
Our collection is growing every day with the help of many teachers. If you want to download you have to send your own contributions.

ESL Forum:

Techniques and methods in Language Teaching

Games, activities and teaching ideas

Grammar and Linguistics

Teaching material

Concerning worksheets

Concerning powerpoints

Concerning online exercises

Make suggestions, report errors

Ask for help

Message board

ESL forum > Ask for help > Used to     

Used to

KHAWLA ALZIOD
Jordan

Used to

I would be grateful if anyone helped me discussing the correctness of the following ... .

Did you used to ...?
I did not used to ...

Is the construction of the sentences correct  ?
Please , explain  " why ? "   if yes ... 

12 Sep 2017      

L. habach
Morocco

Did you use to walk to school when you were a kid?
I didn �t use to wear a uniform when I was a student.
NB. We always use the infininitive form (without �to �) after the auxiliary "do/does/doesn �t/did/did �t)

12 Sep 2017     

kohai
Latvia

I recently searched for the answer to this. I liked this one from http://dictionary.cambridge.org/grammar/british-grammar/past/used-to 

Questions

The most common form of question is auxiliary did + use(d) to. Many people consider the form with a final -d to be incorrect, and you should not use it in exams:

I think we met once, a couple of years ago. Did you use to work with Kevin Harris?

Didn’t she used to live in the same street as us? (Don’t use this form in written exams.)

Negative: didn’t use to

The negative of used to is most commonly didn’t use(d) to. Sometimes we write it with a final -d, sometimes not. Both forms are common, but many people consider the form with the final -d to be incorrect, and you should not use it in exams:

It didn’t use to be so crowded in the shops as it is nowadays.