Welcome to
ESL Printables, the website where English Language teachers exchange resources: worksheets, lesson plans,  activities, etc.
Our collection is growing every day with the help of many teachers. If you want to download you have to send your own contributions.

ESL Forum:

Techniques and methods in Language Teaching

Games, activities and teaching ideas

Grammar and Linguistics

Teaching material

Concerning worksheets

Concerning powerpoints

Concerning online exercises

Make suggestions, report errors

Ask for help

Message board

ESL forum > Ask for help > ELT pedagogy    

ELT pedagogy

piranhac
Tunisia

ELT pedagogy

Hi guys
I have been teaching EFL for ten years   but I still find some points in ELT  unclear because our ispectors want us to teach according to what they trained us to do
Hoever, when reading ELT books i find that they are a bit narrow-minded and hostile to change
I want to post my questions here and get feedback (theory -anchored  feedback please)
my first question is : Do you consider a find the difference between two pictures task a communicative task? 

7 Oct 2019      

cunliffe
United Kingdom

Well, I am not really into theory and stuff, so whether the exercise qualifies as a communicative task... Let�s see. First of all, it is a great task, because the language can be tailored, e.g there is/are... isn�t/aren�t... or really roughly tuned, e.g. one person has a nose slightly less hooked than the other person. Putting students into pairs and insisting they don�t point, but explain the differences, is a great language teaching opportunity, because you can go round, listen in and pick up points of language. Treating the exercise as a barrier game, that is, in pairs, each has one picture and can�t see the other�s, certainly involves communication, as they must ask each other questions, give each other clues, prompts and praise etc... Interesting question!

7 Oct 2019     

douglas
United States