Welcome to
ESL Printables, the website where English Language teachers exchange resources: worksheets, lesson plans,  activities, etc.
Our collection is growing every day with the help of many teachers. If you want to download you have to send your own contributions.

ESL Forum:

Techniques and methods in Language Teaching

Games, activities and teaching ideas

Grammar and Linguistics

Teaching material

Concerning worksheets

Concerning powerpoints

Concerning online exercises

Make suggestions, report errors

Ask for help

Message board

ESL forum > Ask for help > on the Bahamas or in the Bahamas    

on the Bahamas or in the Bahamas

class centre
Belarus

on the Bahamas or in the Bahamas

Dear teachers! I  urgently need your help. In or on the Bahamas? Why?
Thanks in advance

19 Nov 2019      

Marcoreus
Mexico

in the...

19 Nov 2019     

class centre
Belarus

Thanks for the reply. But can anybody tell me why? I am a teacher and the sts are waiting for explanation I can find nowhere. Thanks.

19 Nov 2019     

maryse pey�
France

Bahamas is a plural and that is why you need the article THE.

IN because you can say "IN THE COUNTRY OF THE BAHAMAS" as you say "IN CANADA" or "IN THE USA" or "IN ITALY".
IN THE COUNTRY OF is not expressed but it is logical in the notion.

May an English colleague confirm or complete please ?

19 Nov 2019     

redcamarocruiser
United States

I can confirm that we say "in the Bahamas", but I am not finding an online resource to verify a rule, except this one .https://www.mmmenglish.com/2017/10/03/prepositions-of-place-in-on-at-by/

Michael Swan�s Practical English in Usage says "in is used for position inside large areas and in three-dimensional space (when something is surrounded on all sides) He says "on is used to talk about position on a line (for example a road or a river).