Welcome to
ESL Printables, the website where English Language teachers exchange resources: worksheets, lesson plans,  activities, etc.
Our collection is growing every day with the help of many teachers. If you want to download you have to send your own contributions.

ESL Forum:

Techniques and methods in Language Teaching

Games, activities and teaching ideas

Grammar and Linguistics

Teaching material

Concerning worksheets

Concerning powerpoints

Concerning online exercises

Make suggestions, report errors

Ask for help

Message board

ESL forum > Ask for help > Teaching a very young private student    

Teaching a very young private student

katiejlm
Russian Federation

Teaching a very young private student

Hey everybody,

I teach a Korean family here in Russia (two children aged 8 and 6) and their mother has asked me to try and teach their younger sister too as she will start English language kindergarten in September. She is only 3 years old! I have no experience whatsoever with children so young but the Mother is really desperate and as she speaks neither Russian nor English it is hard for her to find another teacher. I �m happy to give it a shot but do you have any ideas how I can go about this?

The mother has agreed I will only teach for 20 minutes at a time and the girl already knows the alphabet. I don �t speak a word of Korean!

Thanks in advance for your help - I will really appreciate it :)

16 Jun 2009      

Tere-arg
Argentina

Kids from 6 mo to 8 years old are like sponges. The learn so easily!

You can google for techniques and material but basically they  learn through handling material, playing, singing, role-playing...
Drawing, colouring,  painting, describing, telling a story (by looking at pictures), making up a story and drawing it to retell it afterwards are all good activities for them.

16 Jun 2009     

anitarobi
Croatia