Welcome to
ESL Printables, the website where English Language teachers exchange resources: worksheets, lesson plans,  activities, etc.
Our collection is growing every day with the help of many teachers. If you want to download you have to send your own contributions.

ESL Forum:

Techniques and methods in Language Teaching

Games, activities and teaching ideas

Grammar and Linguistics

Teaching material

Concerning worksheets

Concerning powerpoints

Concerning online exercises

Make suggestions, report errors

Ask for help

Message board

ESL forum > Ask for help > Hangman    

Hangman

crazy_turtle
United Kingdom

Hangman

This week a mother complained about the game hangman because "it glorifies suicide" Crazy!!!!

So I started drawing a picture of a man floating over a shark infested pool with 8 balloons. Everytime they made a mistake I would rub a balloon out.....No complaints (yet) that it glorifies death by shark....

Anyway, does anyone else have any ideas on how to play this fun game without glorifiying violence???

Crazy Turtle

17 Jun 2009      

elderberrywine
Germany

Maybe you could start off with a drawing of a human body and for every mistake make one member disintegrate. That �s death, too, but death by disintegration .... LOL
Or draw a bunch of flowers and for every mistake wipe one out
Or draw a dozen smiling faces around one smiling face. For every mistake wipe one of the friends out ...
no matter what you do, it �s always cruel ... Confused

17 Jun 2009     

verybouncyperson
Spain

I �ve done the sharks version (but I drew a set of stairs and each time they get a letter wrong they go down a step) and with balloons - the man just fell out the sky!