Welcome to
ESL Printables, the website where English Language teachers exchange resources: worksheets, lesson plans,  activities, etc.
Our collection is growing every day with the help of many teachers. If you want to download you have to send your own contributions.

ESL Forum:

Techniques and methods in Language Teaching

Games, activities and teaching ideas

Grammar and Linguistics

Teaching material

Concerning worksheets

Concerning powerpoints

Concerning online exercises

Make suggestions, report errors

Ask for help

Message board

ESL forum > Message board > At last!! But with mixed feelings... How do you end up teaching in your school?    

At last!! But with mixed feelings... How do you end up teaching in your school?

frenchfrog
France

At last!! But with mixed feelings... How do you end up teaching in your school?

I have been teaching for 5 years (6 years if I count my year as a trainee teacher) and so far I have been teaching in 10 different schools!! Three days ago I was informed that I had, at last, obtained a teaching post in a school. To me this means that I will not have to wait until 4-5 days before school starts to know where I am supposed to teach! This is a big improvement in my career as a teacher! Less stress too!

Now, in France, you cannot really choose the school in which you want to teach. You have to make a list of wishes and the school authorities will �sort out� everything for you!! This means that in France, we don�t have to go through interviews. Each teacher has a certain number of points depending on their experience, their marital status, the number of children they have. So when you are a single teacher at the beginning of her career, leaving with someone but not married to him, with no children, you don�t have a lot of points and you get � nothing! The more points you have, the more likely you are to get the school you want.