Welcome to
ESL Printables, the website where English Language teachers exchange resources: worksheets, lesson plans,  activities, etc.
Our collection is growing every day with the help of many teachers. If you want to download you have to send your own contributions.

ESL Forum:

Techniques and methods in Language Teaching

Games, activities and teaching ideas

Grammar and Linguistics

Teaching material

Concerning worksheets

Concerning powerpoints

Concerning online exercises

Make suggestions, report errors

Ask for help

Message board

ESL forum > Ask for help > present perfect    

present perfect

yetigumboots
Germany

present perfect

Hello Everyone,

Could someone please clear something up for me. I am teaching present perfect tense at the moment. Which is fine, except when I get a sentence like;

I have been teaching English for 6 years. How do I explain the �ing � form or the word �teaching � in this sentence. 

Thanks for your help

Hugs Yeti.

12 Nov 2014      

dmharg
Greece

All continuous tenses are formed by the verb to be + verb+ing. I have been teaching.... is a present perfect tense. It is formed by the verb be (in present perfect)  have been   and the verb (teach) with -ing. 

12 Nov 2014     

yetigumboots
Germany

So this sentence is really present perfect continuous... Is that right? 

12 Nov 2014     

valodra
France

* I have taught = what is important is the result or completed action. ( ie : I have a good experience in teaching.) * I have been teaching = I �m interested in the activity - or duration - no matter whether it �s been finished or not .) = You are still teaching. Hope this helps.( & hope I�m right here ? )

12 Nov 2014     

aycaaycaesl
Turkey

The sentence you have mentioned is in Present Perfect Continuous Tense and -ing represents the actions in progress in English and it must be used together with �verb to be � depending on the time you are talking about.